#SakhrovPrize2019 - MEPs फाइनलिस्ट चुनते हैं

में MEPs द्वारा एक संयुक्त वोट के बाद विदेश मामले तथा विकास committees on Tuesday, the finalists for the 2019 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought are:

  • Murdered Brazilian political activist and human rights defender Marielle Franco, Native Brazilian leader and environmentalist Chief Raoni and Brazilian environmentalist and human rights defender Claudelice Silva dos Santos
  • The Restorers, a group of five students from Kenya – Stacy Owino, Cynthia Otieno, Purity Achieng, Mascrine Atieno and Ivy Akinyi – who have developed i-Cut, an app to help girls deal with female genital mutilation (FGM)
  • Ilham Tohti, an Uyghur economist fighting for the rights of China’s Uyghur minority

अगले चरण

यूरोपीय संसद राष्ट्रपतियों के सम्मेलन (President and political groups’ leaders) will select the final laureate on Thursday 24 October. The prize itself will be awarded in a ceremony in Parliament’s hemicycle in Strasbourg on 18 December.


यह विचार की स्वतंत्रता के लिए सखारोव पुरस्कार is awarded each year by the European Parliament. It was set up in 1988 to honour individuals and organisations defending human rights and fundamental freedoms.

पिछले साल, पुरस्कार के लिए दिया गया था यूक्रेनी फिल्म निर्देशक ओलेग सेंटोसेव. It is named in honour of Soviet physicist and political dissident Andrei Sakharov and the prize money is €50,000.

अधिक जानकारी


फेसबुक टिप्पणी

टैग: , , , , , , , , , , ,

वर्ग: एक फ्रंटपेज, EU, यूरोपीय संसद, सखारोव पुरस्कार

टिप्पणियाँ बंद हैं।